New category alert!

I started this blog with the intention of writing about everything that interest me. So far, I’ve only written about gaming stuff, but that’s about to change. I want to start writing about fitness. I’m far from being an expert on the subject, but I want to share with you what I learn on my road to a more active lifestyle.

To make it a bit more interesting, I invented a little Jogging game. It’s quite simple. Right now I’m working on finishing the Couch to 5K program and I’ve signed up for a 5k marathon in October. My main goal is to lose weight, of course, but here’s how it’s going to work. Every time I manage to jog faster, it will be like I earned XP. When I lose a certain amount of weight, it’ll be like I leveled up. We all know a game is no game without a mini boss and a boss, so the mini boss will be actually finishing the C25K program and the boss will be finishing the 5k marathon in October. Since were nowhere near close to being in October, I won’t be bugging you every week with updates on my XP and levels, unless there is actual major change.

Now let’s set how this XP and levels will actually work. For the XP, let’s say every time my pace is faster, that’s the amount of XP I get. For example, if my pace is 1 second faster, than I get 1 XP. It doesn’t give anything; it’s just a fun way to keep track of how much I’ve improved my speed. For the levels, I think it’ll be easier to just say I go up a level every time I lose a pound. I won’t notify you every level I get though, that might be way too annoying. Instead I think I’ll just give an update every 5 levels.

I am currently on week 5 of 9 in the C25K program, which means there are 5 weeks to go (including this one) before the mini boss. I won’t keep track of my XP since I’m jogging inside for now (it’s not warm enough yet to jog outside). Once I can jog outside I’ll check my pace and start from that.

Other than this little game, for the fitness portion of this blog, I will also talk sometimes about stuff I learn. For example, next time I’ll talk about what I learned on abdominal muscles since I want to work on those to lose my belly pouch that I still haven’t lost after giving birth (yes I have a 2 year old boy). I might also talk about a little condition I have with my belly as well. We’ll see how it goes!

If you want me to cover something in particular, don’t be shy and ask in the comments and I’ll research it! Just a reminder, I’m not an expert in fitness. I don’t have any education about this, I just go from what I read on the Interwebs.

Leave a Reply

