Kingdom Hearts Series: Story Timeline

Kingdom Hearts is a series developed and published by Square Enix in collaboration with Disney Interactive Studios. So far, there are 7 games in the series and there’s an 8th in the making. Today we will take a look at the actual timeline of the stories and when the games came out. I’ll make a separate post on each of the games in the future with my impression of the game if I’ve actually played it. I’ll see how long it takes me to play them all, but if it takes too long I might just forget giving my impression. We’ll see!

  • The first game that starts the story is Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep. It is actually the 6th game in the series, released in September 2010 on the Playstation Portable
  • Ten years later the story from Kingdom Hearts. This is the game that started the whole series back in September 2002 and was played on the Playstation2.
  • Immediately after KH, Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories. The game was released in December 2004 making it the 2nd game of the series and it was played on the Gameboy Advance.
  • Next one is a bit more complicated, its Kingdom Hearts 358/2 days released in September 2009 on the Nintendo DS, making it the 5th  game released. The story starts near the end of Kingdom Hearts, continues in parallel to Chain of Memories and ends before Kingdom Hearts II.
  • Kingdom Hearts II is set a year after Chain of Memories. It was released in March 2006 on the Playstation 2 making it the 3rd in the series.
  • Next up is Kingdom Hearts Coded. It was first released in November 2008 making it the 4th game in the series, but this version was only available on mobile in Japan. It was later rereleased as Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded in January 2011 for the Nintendo DS.
  • After Re:Coded we have Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance. It’s the most recent game, released in July 2012 on the Nintendo 3DS, making it the 7th game of the series.
  • Kingdom Hearts III still doesn’t have a release date, but we know its set after Dream Drop Distance. It is also the final chapter of the “Dark Seeker” saga, but isn’t supposed to be the last game of the series.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s