First week back in the jogging business!

It’s been a while since I’ve talked about my jogging adventures.. and it’s simply because there hasn’t been any! It was winter, way too cold and way too slippery to job outside. I tried subscribing to a gym, but its schedule didn’t fit mine so I never had time to actually go. I ended up just giving up for the rest of winter. Honestly, I spent February and March just stuffing my face with junk food. I ate as much as I wanted when I wanted just to stock up for when I would completely stop.

I was supposed to start jogging in April since we were starting to get good weather, but suddenly the weather started being way too cold again so I gave up jogging in April, but I still stopped eating junk food. I spent the majority of the month being able to avoid junk food, but by the end of the month I really didn’t feel good about myself and I could feel my depression creeping up and so I gave in and started eating junk again.

Now that May started, I stopped eating junk food once again, but this time I’m doing it a bit more graduate because last time cutting it off completely was extremely hard and I think that’s why I gave in at the end of the month. Last week was pretty good weather, always above 4°C and I successfuly went jogging on Tuesday and Thursday. I had planned to go on Saturday too, but life got in the way so I wanted to go on Sunday but the weather was shit. I’m going to give you an overview of my jogs for last week and, if you want, I can do a post about my jogs every week or I can just update you every month. You decide! (p.s.: if you don’t tell me what you want, I’ll make the decision according to  how much info I can put and if it’s worth it).

Tuesday: I started back at week 6 day 1 from my C25K app, with the goal of completing the 4 remaining weeks this month. I did my 5 minute warmup walk, jogged 5 minutes, walked 3 minutes, jogged 8 minutes, walked 3 minutes, jogged another 5 minutes and ended on a 5 minute cooldown. In this 34 minutes I did 3.46km; 1.21km walking at an avegare pace of 13:15min per km + 2.25km jogging at an average pace of 7:59min per km.

My legs were hurting so bad after that jog, I think they’ve never hurt like that since I started jogging. I pretty much spent the rest of the week in pain. Even today I still have a tiny bit of pain left!

Thursday: Since I was very much still in pain, I didn’t want to do the second day of week 6 of my app because I knew it would just destroy my legs and I wouldn’t be able to do it. Instead, I looked at the options in the S Health app that comes with my phone and did a light jog. The workout was 30 minutes, the speed was gradually going faster instead of alternating between jog and walk. I jogged a distance of 2.97km at an average speed of 5.8km/h

I’m going to try to go jogging tomorrow, maybe actually go back to week 5 day 1 of my app just to get back into the swing of things, but I can’t guarantee I’ll be able to since it’s currently snowing (yes.. we’re in May and it’s snowing where I live.. isn’t it great? >.<)

Leave a Reply

