Surrender // Review

It’s taken me the whole month to write this review (because of life stuff), but it’s finally here haha

Surrender, written by Rhiannon Paille, is the first book in the The Ferryman & The Flame series. It follows Kaliel, a child of Avristar, who falls in love with Krishani, a man. They weren’t supposed to fall in love, but, against all odds, they did and now they may be putting the world in danger if they stay together.

I really liked this book, even though it took a bit of time before getting really interesting. I’m very intrigued at what the story of the second book is because the author wrote an alternate ending to Surrender and I’m not quite sure which one is supposed to be the real one. I love them both because it revolves around Kaliel’s parable. In this universe, everyone goes to see this huge ancient tree and it gives you a parable telling you what you will do in your life. Kaliel’s parable gave her a choice and at the end of the book, the two endings are the outcome of each choice she could make. I liked the original ending very much, even though it made me cry like a baby haha, but when I saw that Rhiannon wrote an alternate ending with the other choice I was very impressed (it’s not all authors that would have gone through the trouble of writting an alternate ending like that)! I will definitely be picking up the rest of the books in this series to finish the story, and I recommend you do the same if you like reading fantasy!

Leave a Reply

