Weight loss journey

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I need to lose weight. I haven’t been making efforts to lose weight since I gave birth in May 2013 because of the diastasis recti (rupture of the line of tissu that holds the two halves of your abdomen together). My belly still looks like a weird pouch and there’s not much I can do about it because I can’t do abdomen exercises without hurting myself. Because of that, I didn’t have any motivation to try other options to lose the weight. Recently, my father-in-law said I must’ve taken 20 pounds since 2010 and oh how it felt good to know that I didn’t look that fat. But that made me wonder how much I actually weigh. So I hopped on the scale I had been avoiding for so many years and found out I weigh 160 pounds. I was shocked. Honestly, I’m pretty much weigh how much I was when I was pregnant with my son.

About a month after giving birth, I was at 152 pounds, which means that in 3 years, I gained 8 pounds. Doesn’t sound so bad, but when you look at my healthy weight zone, I’m on the edge of being overweight. That was my wakeup call. I need to lose weight, and fast. But not too fast so that I don’t have extra skin. All this happened  3 weeks ago. I signed up on myfitnesspal.com, downloaded the app on my phone and started recording everything I ate and every exercise I did. The goal is set for me to lose 1 pound per week and it’s worked so far. I lost 3.8 pounds since July 13th and I am so happy about it.

I big goal is to get back to at least 120 pounds. I think that’s a pretty healthy weight for me. This means that I still need to lose 36.4 pounds. It’s going to be a long journey, but I am finally fully motivated to finish it.

Leave a Reply

