Nintendo Switch // My thoughts

20-nintendo-switch

On the 20th of October Nintendo finally officialy revealed the NX in the form of the Nintendo Switch. The Switch can be used as a home gaming system as well as a handheld. At home, you use the Nintendo Switch Dock to place your Switch in and connect it to the TV to play. You can either use the little controlers on the sides of the Switch, the Joy-Con controllers, or by using the Joy-Con Grip, a controller that you clip the Joy-Con controllers on the sides. To turn the Switch from a home gaming system to a handheld you just need to lift it from the dock and you can start playing where ever you go. You can play in multiplayer with the Joy-Con controllers, weither you’re at home or on the go, and you can even connect multiple Switch systems to play in local multiplayer. We’ll get more information at the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017.

My first thought when I saw the trailer for this new console was “this looks really dumb”. Then I stopped myself and thought about it more. It’s a good idea to be able to transform a home gaming system into a handheld, but I’m on the fence about the specs the Switch will have. They promote a handheld with the same specs as a home gaming system, but I’m not sure if it’s possible. On top of that, the Joy-Con controllers are so tiny! I definitely don’t think it’s going to be very enjoyable playing with those tiny things in your hands. They seem to have all the trouble in the world holding the Joy-Con controllers in their hands and press the buttons they need to press. I also think that little leg thing in the back on only one side to hold the Switch up isn’t safe at all, they should put one on both sides to make sure it doesn’t tip on the side it isn’t being held. I’m also worried about the battery life of this thing. The 3DS is supposed to last minimum 3.5 hours. That’s actually not long when you’re traveling and don’t have access to a plug to charge it. I hope they manage to make the Switch’s battery last longer.

For now, I’m not extremely impressed. I think it’s a good idea, but I’m going to be on the fence until we have more information.

Leave a Reply

