Grow Home // Review

grow-home

Grow Home follows this little robot named B.U.D. as he explores a new planet and tries to grow a plant. On top of having to grow this huge plant, you have to find star crystals to get upgrades on your equipment. You can also scan different plants and animals for M.O.M. to analyze. This game is either a completionist nightmare or dream. It depends on your level of patience. Personally, I love having tons of stuff to find, but I hate needing to get out of my way where I wouldn’t have normaly gone to find these things. That’s what you have to do with the star crystals. They are scattered everywhere. Even underneath a huge floating island.

I enjoyed the art, the colors were really pretty and I liked the kind of blocky feel to it. There isn’t much of a story though. You don’t exactly know why you’re on this planet and why you need to grow this plant to get it’s seeds. It’s more of a collecting game than a story game in my opinion. The one thing I hated the most about this game was the controls. They were so wonky! I spent 9 hours on that game and still could barely control B.U.D. properly by the end of it. He just slides everywhere and doesn’t always turn in the right direction.

In my opinion, Grow Home is a short and cute game that you play to clear your mind. You don’t have to strategise or anything in this game. You can juste turn off your brain and explore this place to find the star crystals and grow your plant. I had fun playing it, but it’s not a game I’ll be playing again.

Leave a Reply

