Swearing and Children

Swearing and children…. Probably the one part of being a parent I just don’t know what to do. Personnally, I started tuning down my swearing when my son was born and I successfully stopped swearing in front of him when he started talking. My SO has a bit more trouble, he sometimes slips up, but most of the time our son doesn’t hear him. At home it’s easy to deal with you know, there’s just me and my SO so if both of us don’t swear then he won’t know what it is.

The problem is when we go to other people’s places. I don’t like asking people to stop acting like their normal self so that my son doesn’t get badly influenced (cause we hang out with crazy people haha). So when we go to friend’s houses or even to my SO’s parent’s place, they swear a whole lot. For example, we went to my SO’s parent’s for a week during the holidays and after about two days my son was using swear words correctly. I was so mad because I want them to not swear in front of my son, but at the same time I don’t want to say it in front of him because then he’ll know it’s a big deal and keep doing it.

It’s such a strange dilema in my head because right now I don’t want him to swear because he’s obviously too young (3 1/2 years old), but I also don’t want to make it a big thing because I know that if I make it a big thing not to swear then he’ll just end up swearing so much outside of the house (that’s what I did haha). So when he’s at a certain age, I won’t mind so much only if he doesn’t swear every two words and only if he does it right.

But for now he’s way too young to swear and still too young to understand what is swearing. I just don’t know how to deal with it! I’m just going to have to keep doing what I’ve been doing and tackle the problems when they’ll get here.

Leave a Reply

