Harry Potter and the Cursed Child // Review + New Book

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

After almost 10 years, J.K. Rowling announced she had worked with Jack Thorne and John Tiffany on a script for the next installment in the Harry Potter series. I was super sad to hear it was going to be a play and not a book, but it was later announced that the script would be published! On July 31st 2016, we finally got to see a new Harry Potter book in libraries. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Nineteen years after the events of Deathly Hallows, Harry Potter sends his younger son, Albus Severus Potter, off to Hogwarts. Albus, being very stressed about not getting into Griffindor, sees his fears come to life when the sorting hat sends him in Slytherin. After this, his life seems to become harder and harder as he has trouble making friends and has trouble doing magic. Struggling to live up to everyone’s expectations because he’s Harry Potter’s son, Albus decides to travel back in time with his only friend Scorpius Malfoy to fix what he deems as his father’s worst mistake. He travels back in time to save Cedric Diggory. He quickly learns that changing the past can have horrible concequences in the future.

At first, I felt like the story was taking a while to pick up, but it’s completely normal since 19 years have passed. It’s not the same story, not the same main characters, so there needed to be some setting of the story. Once it picked up though, my emotions were thrown all over the place. There were times I was laughing, times I was worried, times I was scared and times that I was sad. One of the changes Albus and Scorpius did brought back a beloved character in the future and when Scorpius had to go back to fix things, my heart simply broke all over again. It’s amazing how, even though I perfectly knew this character could not stay alive, his actions in the little time we had with him made me love him even more and broke my heart again when he was gone. Also, right before Scorpius goes back in time to fix things and bring them back to the way they were, something happens to two very important characters and, even though I knew they were going to be fine since it wasn’t the right future, my heart broke and I cried for so long. I love when a story is able to make me have such strong feelinds. If you were a fan of Harry Potter back then, you should definately read this book. It IS different to read since it’s a script and not a normal book, but you get used to it quickly.

mythology-101

 

I’ll be reading Mythology 101 from Jody Lynn Nye this month

 

saga-of-seven-suns-veiled-alliances

 

In April, I’ll be taking on Saga of Seven Suns: Veiled Alliances from Kevin J. Anderson

Leave a Reply

